❶ CAERUS chamber ensemble
❷ Claire Wells & Carlota Marques (electronics)

Friday 27.01. 19–22h


❶ CAERUS chamber ensemble
❷ Claire Wells & Carlota Marques (electronics)

Kühlhaus Berlin – KUBUS, admission to the event: 19–19.30

The program is called LAMENTATIO – RESURRECTIO and thematically revolves around probably one of Anton Arensky’s most important works, his 2nd string quartet, and its musical exploration of death and resurrection. Like mosaic stones, compositions from the entire spectrum of the classical music literature in various instrumentations, from Purcell to Bartok to Widmann, are heard in the run-up to the concert, which on a subjective-emotional level feel a connection to Arensky’s quartet. 

In Part 2 of the concert, Bach’s Partita No. 2, with its legendary Chaconne as the final movement, is heard in a new performance with modular synthesizers. 

I have come as light to shine in this dark world, so that whoever puts his trust in me may not remain in darkness.” (John 8:12) 

Musical program 


  • Gerhard Schedl (1957–2000): “Prelude as it were” for cello solo 
  • Henry Purcell (1659–1695): Fantasia for 3 Violas No. 3 in g minor (arr. for string trio)
  • Béla Bartók (1881–1945): Seven Hungarian volk melodies (arr. for violin & cello)
  • Johann Sebastian Bach (1675–1750): Sinfonia No. 11 g minor, BWV 797 (arr. for string trio)
  • Jörg Widmann (*1973): Choral, No. 17 from “24 Duos for violin & cello”
  • Bohuslav Martinů (1890–1959): Poco andante – Andante moderato from “Three madrigals for violin & viola”, H.313 
  • György Ligeti (1923–2006): Lamento from “Sonata for viola solo”
  • Henry Purcell (1659–1695): Fantasia for 3 Violas No. 2 in F major (arr. for string trio)
  • Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky (1840–1893): Legend “Die Rosenkrone” from ‘16 songs for children’, op. 54, 
  • (arr. for string quartet)
  • Jörg Widmann (*1973): Lamento, No. 22 from “24 Duos for violin & cello” 
  • Anton Arensky (1861–1906): String quartet No. 2 in a minor, op. 35 


  • Modular Bach Performance (commences at 21.30)
  • Johann Sebastian Bach (1675–1750): Partita No.2 in d minor, BWV 1004 in a performance with modular synthesizers


CAERUS chamber ensemble

As a flexible collective, the CAERUS chamber ensemble plays in programs with various instrumentations – from duo to small chamber orchestra; the design of the programs thus gains the greatest freedom and relevance in terms of content. The young artists – all prize winners of renowned international competitions, such as. Tchaikovsky, Joseph Joachim, Long-Thibaut, Joseph Haydn, Prague Spring, Leopold Mozart and members of leading European orchestras such as the Chamber Orchestra of Europe, the Camerata Bern, the Kammerakademie Potsdam, the West-Eastern Divan Orchestra, the Chiaroscuro Quartet, the Kelemen Quartet and the Trio Gaspard – are filled with the common desire to perform chamber music at the highest level, because in this each individual is challenged as a soloist and at the same time as a sensitive part of a community; Freedom and responsibility unite in an indispensable pursuit of chamber music excellence.

Musik X Art

INS OFFENE..! presents visual art as an integral part of the concert events within the framework of the festival, such as the picture series “Music in Picture” by the Italian artist Flavio de Marco, paintings by the Ukrainian painter Kate Nikolya or the video installation “Artificial Intelligence Mental Disorder” by the Uzbek-Azerbaijani artist duo Denis Davydov and Farhad Farzali.